Is Alcohol Gluten-Free? Things to Know

Due to the fact that wheat is a key ingredient in the production of certain types of alcohol, it’s a common assumption that anyone with a wheat intolerance will be unable to partake. But is alcohol gluten-free? As more and more people adopt gluten-free (GF) diets — 8.5 million as of 2016 — the demand for gluten-free products continues to increase. While the usage of wheat, barley and rye can be excluded and substituted when it comes to other products, it’s not so easy when it comes to the production of various types of alcohol. For several years, gluten-free products have continued to increase in popularity and variety. And while many people follow this diet because of its health benefits, for others, it’s not a choice, which is why the abundance of gluten-free foods on the market is so essential. In this post, we’ll discuss drinking on this specialist diet and answer the much-asked question, is alcohol gluten-free?

Is Beer Gluten-Free?

Standard beer usually includes wheat, rye or barley. This means it’s off the menu if you’re on a gluten-free diet. The same goes for any other kind of beer, including lager, ale and stout. With that said, manufacturers have begun to produce specialist beers for people on a gluten-free diet in the last decade or so. It’s essential to remember that gluten-free doesn’t mean alcohol-free, so always be sure to check the alcohol percentage on the label so you know how much you’re drinking. The same goes for the reverse — you might end up drinking an alcohol-free beer that’s jam-packed with gluten, which will be no good at all!

If you are looking for a Gluten Free Beer, check out the beers from our friends at Padstow Brewing Co, we stock their bottles and craft cans.

What about Wine, Whiskey or Other Spirits?

All spirits, wine, and liqueurs are gluten-free because of the way they’re made, which means they can be included as part of a gluten-free diet. With spirits, the distillation process eliminates any traces of gluten, even those that contain ingredients like barley, which will come as a welcome surprise if you’ve previously assumed you should avoid most spirits like the plague. Following a gluten-free diet can be tough at times, as you’ll be forced to look for GF substitutes or, in some cases, give up certain types of food altogether. Fortunately, this isn’t the case with wine and spirits. And due to the vast range of brands on the market, you’ll have more than enough choice to satisfy your drinking needs.

So, What’s the Best Option for a Gluten-Free Diet?

Much like anything else in the world of food or drink, debating whether or not something is better than another is somewhat subjective. Everyone has preferred tastes and a go-to drink, whether they’re on a night out or sat at home in front of the telly. But is there a best option for a gluten-free diet? Well, while one gluten-free choice isn’t necessarily better than the other, you’ll definitely find that you’re less likely to consume gluten if you order a wine or spirit. If you’re in a busy pub or bar, for example, you can’t always guarantee that what you’ve ordered is gluten-free — and if you have a wheat intolerance, you’ll definitely regret taking the chance