The history of Chteau La Gurgue is closely linked to the village of Margaux. Successively, two owners of the vineyard raced for the Town Hall of Margaux and won. The first was a wealthy Portuguese banker, Mr. Peixotto. In 1871, he added to the vineyard some beautiful lands,
which were located around the Parish of Margaux. Later, another mayor of Margaux, Mr Camille Lenoir became the owner of Chteau La Gurgue. He gave his name to the Chteau and enriched it with some valuable plots surrounded by the vineyard of Chteau Margaux. They are located at Curton, on the best croups of Margaux. The Chteau then returned to its original name "La Gurgue", which is a locality of
Claire VILLARS LURTON is the architect of this revival. Year after year, she works with the utmost delicacy to express in her wine the unique terroir of Chteau La Gurgue.
Grapes 55% Cabernet Sauvignon - 40% Merlot - 5% Petit Verdot